
New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency

    Police and Firefighter’s

Retirement System Mortgage Program
Program Description 
This program, which can be used for new mortgages or 
refinances, is administered through private lenders who have the 
necessary information to answer questions on the program. For a 
list of participating lenders, refer to the NJHMFA participating 
lender list at www.njhousing.gov/includes/lender.html.

Terms
Please call a participating lender for current rate. Rates are set 
twice a year in February and August. Rate is based on the 10 
year Treasury bill plus 1%.

Eligible Borrower
Any currently employed police officer or fire fighter, as defined 
in the enabling legislation, who is a member of the Police and 
Firemen’s Retirement System with at least 1 year creditable 
service. While there is no first-time homebuyer requirement, at 
least 25% of the funds will be for first-time homebuyers.

Eligible Properties
One- or 2-family residences and condominium units located 
in the State of New Jersey. Vacant land, provided a contract is 
executed, used to construct an eligible 1- or 2-family dwelling 
that will be habitable by the borrower as their primary residence 
within 120 days of closing.

Occupancy Requirement
Borrower must occupy the residence as their principal 
residence within 120 days of closing and remain in the 
residence for the life of the loan. 

Maximum Mortgage
The maximum mortgage amount as determined by Fannie Mae 
(excluding jumbo loans).

Mortgage Insurance
Mortgage Insurance is required on all loans with downpayments 
of less than 20%.

Second Mortgages

Second mortgages will be permitted on purchase money 
mortgages as follows:

•	 Loans can be originated with an 80% LTV first mortgage 
and a combination of downpayment and second mortgage 
financing equal to 20% of the sales price. Second 
mortgages must not exceed 15% of the LTV. 

Fees
Applicants will be required to pay a standard non-refundable 
application fee and a flat fee of not more than $1,500, $750 
of which must be paid at the time of application. The balance 
of the flat fee is to be paid at closing. If the loan closes 
successfully, the administrator of the funds, NJHMFA, is to 
be paid $325 making the borrower’s total costs $1,825 (this 
$1,825 does not include closing costs.) The fee at the time of 
application is not refundable unless the loan is denied by the 
lender for underwriting reasons. 

Borrowers will pay a flat monthly charge of $30 per month as a 
servicing fee. After 3 years on the 37th month, the fee is reduced 
to $18 per month. The servicing fee will be added directly onto 
the mortgage payment. 

Closing Costs
Borrowers are responsible for all closing costs in addition to the 
application fees. 

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS
The State Treasurer has obtained and is relying on an opinion 
from tax counsel that there is an adequate basis, in accordance 
with prevailing guidelines, to conclude that it is reasonable for 
the Police and Firemen’s Retirement System to take the position 
that mortgages issued under this program should not be treated 
as taxable distributions. If it is ultimately determined that these 
mortgages are taxable distributions, you could be required 
to pay tax on the mortgage proceeds as well as penalties. 
We suggest you consider consulting your own tax advisor 
before submitting your application.
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